Another Newbie Here

• Anonymous
      August 9, 2006 at 11:28 am

I was recently diagnosed with CIDP. My doctor has given me a couple of months to figure out what type of treatment would be best for me. Although it is expensive, he recommends IVIG. I have an eating disorder, so he does not want me using steroids. I read another newbie’s post, and they spoke about getting steroids before IVIG. Is that common?

I would also like some general words of wisdom about CIDP. Right now, I have a lot of tingling in my hands, and I no longer have any reflexes in my lower extremities (my legs are also very weak). However, I am able to walk, and I have started to use the treadmill again approximately 3 times a week. I was very scared to find out how many people seem to have minimal use of their limbs. My doctor called my case moderate, and felt I had ample time to reach a decision regarding treatment.

I am very scared right now, and I need to know what I’m facing. Any words of wisdom would be helpful. I feel all doom and gloom (even without the steroids); I also feel that I may be to blame for my disorder because I brought it on with my eating disorder (although my previous doctor thought that it may be the result of the kidney cancer I had six-seven years ago – it was contained in the kidney, so I didn’t need any chemo/radiation).

I am sorry for such a rambling first post.

• Anonymous
      August 9, 2006 at 12:55 pm

Welcome to the site, Chaya!