Reply To: What's your typical reaction to your IVIG treatments?

July 10, 2017 at 12:02 am

My first IVIG treatment-which was 5 IVIG infusions, 5 days in a row, was not pleasant. First, I was not premeditated with either Benadryl or Tylenol, so after the 2nd infusion, upon returning home (a whole mile away from the hospital) I became extremely ill with an adverse reaction to the IVIG-fever, rash, vomiting, abdominal pain, profuse sweating…just absolutely miserable. Being a nurse myself, an Oncology nurse well versed in dosing all blood products, IVIG being one of them, and of course knowing better-hey, I had no bones visible & I wasn’t bleeding! (My poor kids!) in my near comatose state I allowed my mother & husband to give me Benadryl & Tylenol. That (luckily) stopped the reaction, however I continued to feel absolutely miserable-my eyelashes hurt. I was still so ill the next day, I had to cancel my infusion. For the 3rd & remainder of the infusions, I was premeditated & the infusions went MUCH better, except for the brain imploding headaches. Luckily & suprisingly, ibuprophen & ice packs made those somewhat tolerable for the next week. Keeping things in perspective, I’d gone 2 yrs with no diagnosis, so my pain was relative. On the day of the 5th infusion, I was able to walk unassisted,-no wheelchair, no cane-for the first time in 18 months. I could handle some body aches & headaches w/ that (atypical) result. The next week, I was beyond exhausted. I always told my patients, healing is hard work on your body. It sure has a different meaning when YOU are the patient! I basically slept with head/body aches & nausea for 5 days. Then I felt like Wonder Woman for 2.5 weeks before the symptoms came back, hitting me like an Amtrak.