weekly IVIG

• Anonymous
      December 22, 2008 at 1:19 am

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to this post, though I visited a few years ago. I have been receiving IVIG for 5 years. At different points it has been once every other week, 3 times a month, or every week. It has been every week for over a half year now. Does anyone receive it as often as I do? Of course I am so grateful for the IVIG and the aggressiveness my doctor has given my case. At the same time, I am hopeful to get less of this at some point. I am very concerned about the steroids given too. It gets discouraging!

Merry Christmas to everyone. Thank you for reading my message.

John

• Anonymous
      December 22, 2008 at 6:04 am

Hi John,
      I just started on this weekly IVIg schedule, it’s my preference as I felt like I was getting too much at once. So far so good. I have some steroids around here somewhere but I don’t take them unless I feel like I’m going downhill too quickly to wait for IVIg. They make me feel weak… and crabby. Have you talked to your doctor about cutting down on the steroids?
      Have a happy day,

Julie

P.S. My post on New Treatment Protocol is on this subject, among other retarded things.

• Anonymous
      December 23, 2008 at 9:39 am

My daughter used to get IVIG 2-3 times a week & she was 4-5 years old at the time. She received 20 grams at every infusion.

She was up to once every 3 weeks, we tried to stretch her to every 4 & she had a “setback”. So we started her off with another loading dose (110 grams over 4 days), put her on weekly IVIG’s again for a month. We currently just finished up 6 weeks of IVIG’s every 2 weeks.

How much IVIG do you get? And what is the steroid dosage? Is it oral or infused steroids?

If you get oral steroids & are concerned you can talk with your dr about switching you to Solumedrol, which is an infused steroids. People report a better tolerance to it with fewer side effects.