Tysabri for CIDP

• February 3, 2008 at 5:13 pm

Hello everyone,

Though PP has kept me going for nearly 10 years, my neuro wants me to try Tysabri to see if any of my deterioration over the years can be reversed as he has seen in some MS patients he is treating in a Tasybri clinical study his practice is conducting through the Touch program.

I was approved to take the drug in November, but got “cold feet” and did not start it because of the PML (progressive multifocal leukoenecphalopathy) possibility. Biogen makes this drug for MS as well as Avonex for MS, which I tried without success, but also without side effects.

Are there any other CIDP’ers taking Trysabri, or have taken it? If so, did you see any results and what if any side effects came with the drug?

Thanks for any input on this.

Fred

Tysabri for CIDP?

• Anonymous
      January 3, 2008 at 7:58 pm

I’m a newbie. A caregiver for my wife (Shannon) of 18 years who has suffered with CIDP/Mgus for the last 9 years. Her story is long and complicated, and for the moment we’ll leave it alone. As for the immediate future…Shannon (44 years old) is currently in a serious relapse. The suggestions on the table are 1) Cytoxan, for the 2nd course in the last 6 years or, 2) Tysabri-> a drug for MS. In researching and even calling the drug company I’ve yet to find any information about treating CIDP with Tysabri. Anyone out there who may have some information, or has been offered this “new” drug? Apparently those with surpressed immune systems can develop a rare and deadly brain infection (PML). Shannon’s immune system is seriously surpressed!! I’m not sure what the neurologist is thinking…but in allowing him the benefit of doubt, I’m out in internet space looking for information. That’s how I ran across this forum a few days ago.