Tetanus vaccine

• Anonymous
      June 5, 2007 at 6:50 pm

I was stuck at work with a dirty needle.I was told my tetanus shot was old and I needed another vaccine. I asked if it had any contraindications that a person with Guillian Barre should not take it. As she said I don’t know she gave me the shot anyway. Since that day I was in bed sick zand feverish for 3 days, had shots of phenergan, then low and behold I have been falling and my legs are numb and tingling, starting at my toes and have moved up passed my knees. I feel like crap. My brother and I looked on an insert from the vaccine and I was not supposed to get it and we looked on other vaccine inserts and we are to not take any, because there are risks to people who have had , or can get Guillian Barre. My doctor won’t return my calls, and I am a little scared. I am not feeling right. anyone have any suggestions.

Tonya
      Guillian Barre 2000

• June 5, 2007 at 7:01 pm

Tonya, I have no experience with the tetanus vaccination, but I have read many posts on this forum regarding the same concearns. Check under search and enter tetanus and you should get some info. Sorry I could not be of more help! Dawn Kevies mom 😮

• Anonymous
      June 5, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Tonya I got GBS from a flu shot. My Neuroligist told me to NEVER take another flu shot or Tetanus.What you wrote sounds like me when I found out I had GBS.Also I would find myself another Dr as it sounds like he knows he was wrong and may be open to a law suit. Why did you have to take a Tetanus shot. If I was you I would get in touch with a Neuroligist ASAP. Something went wrong with that shot. Who told you it was an old needle and old Tetanus. You need to get to the hospital as you are not doing well.I have you in my prayers and thoughts (Steve)

• Anonymous
      June 5, 2007 at 7:57 pm

I’m with Steve. Go to the ER and keep us posted.

• Anonymous
      June 5, 2007 at 8:25 pm

Huntti,