Talk to a Respiratory Therapist Who Knows?

• Anonymous
      April 21, 2007 at 5:38 pm

Hi folks.

It’s been awhile since I have been able to post, and it’s good to be back.

I have been a Respiratory Therapist for almost twenty years, and have suffered through two bouts of GBS. Both were slow onset lasting over a year. The last incident left me laid up for almost two years. I still have residual (and bizzare) symptoms.

My question to you folks is “How was the care you received from your RT?” and I’m also here to answer any questions you might have for me.

As of today, I am back at work, specializing in neonates and pediatrics. They don’t mind if I hobble 😉

Bless you all.

• Anonymous
      April 21, 2007 at 7:43 pm

Good question and welcome 🙂 I was never given appropriate care for the GBS (obviously didn’t need a vent) but 5 months later I presented with “BOOP” ~ that horrible lung disease. No one knows how I survived but I had the best pulmonologist in the country (my opinion:) ) and the respiratory group took special interest in my case (no one had seen this disease before). It took 7 1/2yrs. of steroids, other suppressants, and “stuff” to save my life. If it wasn’t for the amazing “sticktuitive” care of “the Group”, I couldn’t have survived. They are my heros!!!

What a thrill that you are able to be back at work. I’m just happy to be alive and to be able to hold the grandkids (I was still to weak just 3+ years ago).

Talk to a Respiratory Therapist Who Knows?

• Anonymous
      April 21, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Hi folks.

It’s been awhile since I have been able to post, and it’s good to be back.

I have been a Respiratory Therapist for almost twenty years, and have suffered through two bouts of GBS. Both were slow onset lasting over a year. The last incident left me laid up for almost two years. I still have residual (and bizzare) symptoms.