Still self cathing, please help

• Anonymous
      November 21, 2007 at 11:31 am

I am new at this, just 3 weeks into GBS, and fortunately with a mild case compared to so many of you.I have only lost my lower extremities, however along with that I have lost the function to urinate.My first question is this common with GBS and second, is there anything I can do to facilitate or expedite the return of this function?
      Thank you for any responses or help!

• Anonymous
      November 21, 2007 at 11:56 am

Hello and welcome

Unfortunately it is relatively common to lose that function, and unfortunately it you can do nothing to expidite the return of that function until it’s ready to return back to normal. There are medications out there that can be tried to allow you to urinate on your own – but as I said, I dont think that would be considered functioning on its own. I stand to be corrected here as I wasnt taking down notes while it was being explained. The medications (and I think 2 were mentioned), I think, loosens or relaxes the bladder and allowes the urine to flow. I’m not sure if you would be able to control it yourself as they didnt speak to that. However, apparently it doesnt always work and it causes side effects like constipation – which may already be a big problem for you. Obviously if you speak to the doctor about this you would have to weigh the pro’s and con’s, as I’m not sure you would be able to actually ‘feel’ when you need to urinate.

• Anonymous
      November 21, 2007 at 12:11 pm

imo yes it is connected with gbs. I did not however lose the ability to urinate just the ability to control it. Got it back after 6 weeks in ccu and a week in rehab. I am glad that you have a mild case but don’t overdo it cause it has got to run its course. If I might ask what did they treat you with ivig or pp?

• Anonymous
      November 21, 2007 at 1:22 pm