Scuba Diving and CIDP?

• Anonymous
      January 6, 2008 at 9:08 am

I want to learn scuba diving and I need a medical clearance but none of the doctors I go to know anything about my illness except my neurologist and he is hiding from me.

My regular GP ran away a couple of years ago, funny thing is the GP I go to now isnt interested in learning about my illness yet has got results for me in Physio therapy and other medical procedures while that other useless Doctor I spent 5 years training about my illness never did anything good for me except run away.

Does anyone have any knowledge of the dangers for CIDP patients? I am leaving in a weeks time so I need to know before then. If I don’t get a satisfactory answer you know I am going to come after you, just send the airfare first.

Don’t believe everything you see this is not my first post!

• Anonymous
      January 6, 2008 at 9:27 pm

My neuro usually tells me, “if you feel like doing it, do it.” I am not a doctor, but I see no harm in doing what you feel safe within your personal limits.

• Anonymous
      January 7, 2008 at 10:21 pm

I’m going to give you my five cents worth. I don’t believe there is a medical contraindication. HOWEVER, it depends on what type of strength you have. I went snorkeling and tried to do some free dives and didn’t have the strength to do so.I used a buddy so I didn’t float away:) Even so you have a weight belt and BC for rising and falling, you have to have significant leg strength. Now, you can buddy dive without a problem. They just need to know your limitations as far as mobility. Does that help?

• Anonymous
      January 10, 2008 at 3:40 am

Thanks guys,