Saw Neurologist

• Anonymous
      June 19, 2007 at 6:34 pm

I saw my Neurologist today about the form for work. I explained to her how my work place is giving me a hard time. Well she made me do the Nerve test all over again and it was the same no changes. But because me not having the strength to do my job especially this year she decided to try 5 days of IVIG. She said I could have it done in 2 days but I thought as it is my first time getting it I will take the 5 day version.
      It’s out of town I have to get it done in Ottawa as I am not sure my family DR can order that at my local hospital so that means going back and forth every day.

She ordered blood work so she can have the result of them before I start IVIG. She thinks I will be getting my IVIG in about a months time.

The form for work she will have to call them to ask what they want from her. She will also bring up the fact that she is ordering IVIG for me.

Sue

• Anonymous
      June 19, 2007 at 6:41 pm

I don’t really know how the health care system works in Canada but I would think that you SHOULD be able to either get the IVIG done through home care, a local infusion center, or you could stay at the hospital for the 5 days. You should have your neuro call your family dr to see if they can arrange for the infusions to be done at the hospital nearest you. There shouldn’t be any reason why they can’t get the IVIG too. I wouldn’t suggest driving back & forth after getting it, especially since this will be your first time.

I hope it works for you. Having an EMG that is the same is better than having one that is worse…so really it was good news. (I’m working on finding the positive in everything…can you tell?)

I’m glad that she’s working with you on the work thing. Hopefully they will understand and cut you some slack.

Kelly

• Anonymous
      June 19, 2007 at 6:54 pm