residuals

• Anonymous
      April 18, 2008 at 3:16 pm

My husband was diagnosed with GBS on Jan 4, 2006. and came home from rehab on Jan 17, 2006. He was diagnosed on the 1st day and started IVIG for 5 days. His recovery was pretty amazing. He walked out of the rehab without a cane. His neurologist was pretty amazed. He has been fine these last 2 years, except yesterday he told me he was walking and his right foot and leg went numb. This lasted a few minutes. It really freaked him out. Do any of you think it might be a residual? Should we contact his doctor or wait and see if anything else happens. Thanks, Shari

• Anonymous
      April 18, 2008 at 3:51 pm

I’m a rookie here, but was dx GBS in March 2005 and spent 3 mos in hospital. To me residuals are the fact that I still don’t have all the feeling in both feet and my right hand has both motor and sensory damage. If he was fine for 2 years, it could be the start of something else. Don’t ignore the symptoms and if you think you should get it checked out, then go sooner than later.

Best of all good luck, document everything and then question it!

• Anonymous
      April 18, 2008 at 5:39 pm

hi shan & welcome,

it could be his resduals or perhaps not. it couldn’t hurt to go to the neuro & have an ncv done when compared to one done earlier, these last 4 weeks i’ve been worring abt my self in a similar manner. i can hardly walk unassisted, things fall ouy of my hands, an this double vision doesn’t help the typing. i’ll be seeing my neuro next week. take care. be well.

gene gbs 8-99
      in numbers there is strength

• Anonymous
      April 18, 2008 at 7:58 pm

Gene you Take Care of Yourself.
      We all love you and know how much help you give to all of us. Let us be there for you.

Sue

• Anonymous
      April 18, 2008 at 9:10 pm