Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome

• Anonymous
      May 16, 2007 at 11:54 pm

When I was first diagnosed I was like everyone else, in a wheelchair. Eventually I graduated to a walker and then to a cane and now nothing at times. However, anytime I see someone in a wheelchair or I have to get my wheelchair out for some reason, or I see someone with a walker I just burst into tears. It is uncontrollable and I am a mess. I start to shake really bad and I am just sobbing. What in the world is causing this and why can’t I control it. I can be perfectly fine and then wham I am a total mess. Is there anything I can do for this or any way I can learn to control this. It feels devastating and takes me a while to get under control again. People are very understanding and helpful but it just surprises me every time it happens. Does anyone else have this problem? :confused:

Thanks guys

Sherry

• Anonymous
      May 17, 2007 at 12:26 am

Hey Sherry ~ good to see you back on the forums ๐Ÿ™‚ PTS is a crazy-making disorder! One never knows when: what or where or why it “pops up”. When a person experiences such a life-changing event, like GBS/CIDP, you can never be the same again. And for most of us, still on these forums, it was traumatic! Just the other day I burst into tears from “remembering” and what a surprise that was ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I had a good sob and then was thankful for how far I have come in all these long years . . . (Have you had any counseling with someone who really understands chronic health issues and the effects on the psyche? We have good “counselors” here and they don’t cost nearly so much ๐Ÿ˜€ )

So, see, you are in good company ~ ha!! Be good to you and do something comforting after an event (chocolate??)

• Anonymous
      May 17, 2007 at 8:15 am

Hi Sherry