Possible GBS

• Anonymous
      March 13, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Hi I’m a newbie and I’m sure you guys get lots of silly questions from newbies. Here’s my story..

I was in the hospital for 4 days after vomiting non-stop and dehydration for days. I was diagnosed the day after leaving the hospital — last friday – with Campylobacter.

While at the hospital I told the nurses my legs just aren’t working right. They didn’t have an answer but released me. Yippee. So, all of the campy symtoms disappeared, but my legs got worse. Unable to move them. My feet tingle and are freezing.

I insisted my regular dr. get me in early so I went in yesterday and she was disturbed to see me in my condition – with a walker. She immediately got me in for an MRI and a Neurologist today. What another fun set of tests THAT was! EMG and all. The Neurologist thinks I may have an unusual form of GBS. So I’m scheduled for a Spinal Tap tomorrow.

I noticed just a half hour ago…I could walk! Wow!!! without assistance. My feet are still cold and tingling though. Could my “nerves” be tricking me or is this a good sign???? We think I got the Campy 18 days ago.

Is a spinal as bad as everyone makes it to be??

Thanks in advance!

• Anonymous
      March 13, 2007 at 10:06 pm

Welcome Rebecca!
      I have had two spinal taps and they were both a breeze. It helps if you are relaxed about it. You’ll do great!! Hopefully that will give you some answers. I had a mild form of GBS — and my feet and lower legs were freezing (burning cold) too! I could walk — though not very well or very far for several weeks.

Best wishes for a speedy recovery…
      Leanne

• Anonymous
      March 13, 2007 at 10:12 pm

Even though you walked today doesn’t mean your are better. Please take it easy because with GBS you can be down for the count in a matter of minutes.

GBS is one quirky illness and doesn’t go away that fast.

Wishing you the best. 🙂

• Anonymous
      March 13, 2007 at 10:17 pm