No Hope-thanks to GBS

• Anonymous
      December 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm

I have been suffering with symptoms of GBS since Sept. 2009. I still have blurred vision, pain in the back of my head continuously, shortness of breath, irregular heart beats, neck pain, and tingling pain in arms & leg off & on.
      I was a healthy, 43 year old woman prior, lost my fiance to cancer in 2008.
      My employer fired me for using Aflac disability in Oct. 2009. I have had to limit my medical care because I have no money. And two months ago, I had to give up my independence because of this illness. Which was a blow I cannot accept & has destroyed all hope for me & my future.

Lisa

• Anonymous
      December 13, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Lisa, that really stinks. I would urge you to seek legal advice on your employment termination. I am not a lawyer, but I do not believe, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, that you can be fired because of disability.

Please check this out…preferably with an attorney who specializes in disability law.

Good luck. Sorry I can’t help with the referral. I live on the east coast.

Sharon

• Anonymous
      December 14, 2010 at 11:24 am

Lisa,

I am sorry to hear this. I had “mild GBS” a year ago, and still have the symptoms that you mention. I have been told that I have fibromyalgia or low serotonin disorder now. You might want to google these and see if it correlates. If so, seek out a doctor that specializes in fibromyalgia. The doctor feels that I had GBS, but that it triggered and ongoing “fight or flight” syndrome that my body cannot shut off. Good luck! I too am young (39) with no prior major problems. It sucks, but you have to persevere!!

Jessica

• Anonymous
      December 14, 2010 at 7:01 pm

So do you still have vision problems like blurred vision?
      Has any doctor told you how long it can last? Or how to improve it?

Thanks…Lisa

• Anonymous
      December 21, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Lisa,