New to Forum!!! GBS/CIDP Sufferer Here is my story. Input or advice appreciated.

• Anonymous
      July 24, 2008 at 7:59 pm

MY GBS / CIDP Story

Hi Everyone,

Where to begin???

I contracted GBS in 1988. I was in Basic Training with the US Army and got sick about 2 weeks after starting training. I did go through the entire regimen of shots and vaccinations when I began Basic Training. It took nearly 2 months to finally get a diagnosis of what I had. I went untreated the entire time while I was under the initial GBS attack. When I started Basic Training I was able to do 25 push ups, but by the 3rd week I was unable to do any. I remember having difficulty brushing my teeth, buttoning my shirt, and tying my shoes. I was mostly affected in my upper body. I did have trouble with severe weakness in my legs. I was never hospitalized.

I was finally able to go back into Basic Training in September of 1988. I still had extreme difficulty running. I graduated Basic Training in November of 1988 and went on to serve 4 years in the US Army. I always had physical issues especially with running, but somehow was able to complete my 4 year commitment.

I filed an initial VA Disability Claim in 1992. The VA came back with a rating of 10% for basic nerve damage. I was satisfied with the reward. I knew I had physical issues, but considered them minor.

I never followed up on my condition or sought additional care or treatment until 2007. My condition was fairly stable and I was willing to deal with my ‘minor’ disability issues.

Beginning in 2007 my physical condition began to significantly deteriorate. I was having a lot of problems with my hands and arms. Lots of weakness and numbness. I reopened my VA Disability Claim in the Fall of 2007. They sent me to do a complete Neurological Exam which included Nerve testing. I was found to have severe entrapments and neuropathies in both my arms and legs with the arms being most severe. They classified my case as now being CIPD.