New to CIDP

• Anonymous
      August 31, 2008 at 1:21 am

I’m 33 and started having CIDP symptoms in late March and was diagnosed in July. Had a round of IVIg in July and seemed to be making improvements until the IVIg wore off then I relapsed hard. So now instead of IVIG every two months, my neurologist is having me do IVIg every 4 weeks. I just finished the second round of 5 doses on Monday. Right now I’m using a walker to get around.

Was wondering if anyone here ever got to the point where they are walking normally again? My neurologist said he’s heard of cases in people where CIDP was diagnosed and treated early enough, but I’ve never seen any such posts on the boards. Seems as though most people get worse over time?

• Anonymous
      August 31, 2008 at 2:59 am

Hello AllyinCali,

Yes, CIDP can be effectively treated so that one can live an almost normal life. I know, because I do. I work full time as a chemist, volunteer at my church, and do most of the other normal things in life. I walk a bit slower than I used to, along a somewhat zig-zag path, but most people would never know I have a disease. You need to remember that web-based support groups tend to draw those with bad cases, so what you read here is probably not representative of typical outcomes.

At this point, I would give the IVIg some time to work its magic. It may take a few months to improve to nearly normal walking. The fact that you improved and then relapsed suggests that IVIg is effective, but that you will need it for the next while. You have become part of an experiment, one in which your neurologist and you will change doses and frequency. You may find that you need to add other drugs as well.