New Pt, No Real Dx,reaction To Ivig—

• Anonymous
      September 8, 2007 at 10:55 pm

Hello Everyone!
      I’m Very New To All Of This Neuro Stuff. Been Put Thru The Ringer For Almost 3 Months. Since June I’ve Had 2 Abn. Nerve Conduction Studies On My Legs, Spinal Tap, Mri Of Lumbar, And 3 Rounds Of Ivig ( Total Of 12 Days Tx.) After Each Round Of The Ivig, I Felt Much Better But App. 5 Days Later I Broke Out With A Rash That Looked Like Shingles But Was Located On Chest Anterior And Posterior (back) And All Over My Neck, Face And Scalp.
      My Neuro Sent Me To A Dermatologist Whom Performed A ‘punch Biopsy’ On One Of The Lesions On My Chest. Results Were “viral” No Known Cause!?!?

Mom Of Three, Exhausted

JERRIE

• Anonymous
      September 9, 2007 at 9:39 am

Keep looking. It took over a year to get a dx. for our baby, now 3 years old. It is frustrating but you can’t stop looking. We went to 2 major hospitals but the dr. who found out the correct dx. was at a small hospital. I have come to the conclusion, it does not matter how large the hospital is, it’s all about the dr.

There is a test to see if you are allergic to ivig, maybe someone can tell you the exact name. Also, there are MANY brands out there. I’m sure you were premedicated??

If at any time, your dr. stops wanting to look for a dx, switch drs. Someone out there will find what is wrong with you.

Good luck,
      Lori

• Anonymous
      September 9, 2007 at 6:24 pm

hi jerrie
      it sounds like you need to be pre-medicated prior to your ivig.
      i started getting blisters on my chest and face and had some fever. we started benedryl, medrol dose pak and tylenol. i have very little side effects now. i have ivig every other month.
      good luck with your dr and i agree, find another dr if this one can’t make up his mind on your dx. it took me a few to find my new one and i just love the relationship. keep asking questions, there are no silly ones you know!!:D

• Anonymous