New Member, thoughts please?

• Anonymous
      April 25, 2009 at 5:16 am

Hi, I’m new to all of this and just trying to get a handle on all my medical stuff that is going on.:( Thoughts about my situation would really be appreciated. Sorry this will be a little long.

I caught what felt like a mild case of the flu in early Feb. ’09. Fatigue was among the symptoms. Within a few days the only thing that remained was the fatigue. Within about a week I noticed that I couldn’t grip my two big toes in my shoes and going up steps was becoming a little difficult. I continued to steadily deteriorate over the next 5 weeks until the point that I couldn’t walk unassisted or without an aid (a walker) and stairs were not even an option anymore. My fingers also became weak. I was finally able to get in to see a doctor and she immediately contacted a neuro who had me go into the hospital that day. He seemed to know immediately that my condition was CIDP based on my description of symptoms, his exam, and the fact that my family history is rife with autoimmune diseases. I had a lumbar puncture and all kinds of other blood tests and 5 weeks after I noticed things started they began me on the firstline treatment of IVIG for 5 days. They initially didn’t want to try steroids because I have diabetes. I’ve done some physical therapy, but not formally because I had to apply for Medicaid and am waiting for acceptance and approval to go somewhere.

Now I am at 3 weeks later and not only did I show no improvement, my peripheral neuropathy has gotten worse. All of the bottoms of my feet and my palms constantly tingle.

The only pain I have (thank goodness) is that my calves feel extremely tight and sore whenever I stand after having sat for a while.