New – Ist time on the forum

• Anonymous
      May 26, 2008 at 11:34 am

Hi everyone. This is my first time on any forum. I thought this one is the one for me! I have a million questions about the recuperating part of this scary thing [GBS]. My quick history: I became sick on 19Dec07, and was in the hospital over Christmas for 8 days, misdiagnosed with Bells Palsy and back spasms, & sent home with drugs while my paralysis increased. I was finally diagnosed with GBS on 01Feb08, and the infusions began that night. I’ve been home from the hospital since 04Mar08, and I’m not back to work yet while I try to “hurry up & get better”. I’m learning with frustration, that this is not anything you can rush, is it? It seems to have a mind of its own and, just when I think I’m starting to turn a corner, something else pushes me back. I’m feeling the “doldrums” now because I’ve made it through the terrible stuff and want to get my life back. I feel I’ve been a patient patient long enough. Through reading stories in this forum, I’m learning that everybody’s symptoms and recovery schedule seem different, so I don’t know if anybody can tell me if the weird things I’m experiencing are normal. I guess the big question is “Is there such a thing as NORMAL?

• Anonymous
      May 26, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Hi Wendy,

Welcome to the site! That’s a long time from onset to diagnosis and then infusions. Are they sure of your diagnosis of GBS? And how long did your paralysis progress?

As far as normal, you will find a LOT of different people on here with a LOT of different symptoms/story/etc. Which is good because sometimes we are out of the “norm” of a textbook. Good luck to you!

• Anonymous
      May 26, 2008 at 4:17 pm

Hi Gabrielle
      Thank you for your response.
      Yes the neurologist was definite about my diagnosis. As I was having the 2nd nerve response test done, he kept coming in and looking over the technician’s shoulder saying, “Classic! That’s classic”.