New Guy

• Anonymous
      November 7, 2006 at 3:53 am

Hi Folks,

I am new to computer posting and also new to this forum. I just discovered this website and I am extremely grateful that you all have experiences to share and you have opened your hearts. I would like to relate some of my history for your comments and ask a few questions.

After I was laid off from my job, I went onto my wife’s insurance and was assigned a new PCP. This doctor prescribed a routine pneumonia shot (is there such a thing?) and 2 weeks later I contracted a severe case of bronchitis. I started to cough so bad that I had to go to the ER and they gave me codene cough syrup. 2 days later the soles of my feet went numb. 24 hours later I could not stand or breathe and I was rushed to the hospital (little did I know, I wouldn’t return home for 8 months). 3 hours after I was admitted a spinal tap was completed and the protein levels were elavated. At this point (day before Thanksgiving 2004) I was introduced to the challanging world of GBS.

In ICU I was trached and had Plasma Pheresis and IGiv. I spent the next 3 months on the infamous ventilator and in a morphine fog. After 3 months in ICU (laying motionless must cause atrophied muscles & contracted joints) I moved to step-down for 3 months and rehab for 2 more months. I had the trach for 6 months and I was fed liquid nutrition through a GI tube for 6 months (man, I was dying for solid food).

I came home in July of 2005, but could not get myself out of bed, walk, or feed/groom myself. I had home OT and PT for a while before going into an out-patient program. Currently I have motor and sensory damage in my hands, feet and facial muscles. My left thumb does not function at all, but the doctors are going to attempt a tendon splice from my wrist that will hopefully give me some movement. I have had surgery on both feet and one hand to correct contractions in the joints.