My One Year Anniversary is Tonight

• Anonymous
      April 4, 2008 at 1:25 pm

As I sit here getting my IVIG, in a couple of hours is when I went to the ER thinking I was catching my stroke so early, not knowing what else would be going on. The good news is this round of IVIG is doing wonders so far, unlike the last round two weeks ago. Who can ever imagine how long a year is when you are watching for every sign of improvement and change each and every day?

As a side note, I am being interviewed by my newspaper today for an article on biking and my recovery. I have a recumbant bike and it is the only activity that I can do and go fast:) Well faster than a turtle. Some days I still daisy pick! But, it has allowed me to lose 10 pounds of weight that I put on right after I got sick. Took a long time to figure out something that would work and my motto has been to never ever give up. Everyone, no matter what level of wellness, can do some type of actiivity. And I believe it has been instrumental in allowing me to keep walking today.

So for am newbies or lurkers, life does go on. Frustrating and depressing at times, and grateful most other times. Have a good weekend and thank you to everyone who has given me sanity this past year!

• April 4, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Hi Gabrielle,
      It is so great to read about how great things are going for you. Yesterday was 18 months for Kevin. Have a nice weekend yourself as well.
      Dawn

• Anonymous
      April 4, 2008 at 6:50 pm

Congratulations Gabrielle on your spirit to find an activity and keep going with it. You’ve convinced me to get up tomorrow morning and go for a run to salute your achievement (a slow run!!). Spring is here and the good weather is coming so we can all get out out and find an activity we enjoy to keep active.
      Last week, as I travelled through various airports I never once used the moving sidewalks. I figure that as long as I can walk, I am going to enjoy it!!
      Keep up the good work