Moving from CA to TN with CIDP–very nervous

• Anonymous
      May 31, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting something, although I do keep up with the forums and am so pleased to have found a community like this!

So real quick about me: I was diagnosed in Aug 2007 with GBS (as I’m sure most of you were) after months of being in and out of the hospital the diagnosis was changed to CIDP in Dec 2007 (5 days before my birthday–nice huh?) I’ve tried both IVIG and pheresis multiple times with minimal results and less than desirable side-effects. I get horrible aseptic meningitis that puts me out for days at a time after IVIG. I also don’t do well with the perm-a-cath necessary for pheresis so they can’t leave it in for more than a week at a time which means repeated painful insertions for treatments that aren’t all that helpful. I’ve been on several medications, currently CellCept and am tapering off of prednisone due to bad side effects.

I consider myself lucky, though, because I’ve gotten to the point where I can go about 16 weeks without needing in-patient treatment (IVIG or pheresis). I never have regained full strength and have bad days, but I’m walking on my own again and generally live with the attitude that I’ve got too much going on in my life to be sick right now–which hasn’t been all that bad.