Mobility Aids

• Anonymous
      October 10, 2010 at 1:38 pm

This thread is for information and discussion regarding various mobility aids:
      AFO’s, walking canes, crutches, walkers, rollators, wheelchairs, mobility scooters, lifts, ramps, etc.

If you want to share what mobility aids you use for GBS-CIDP, please post anytime. This gathered information will help us to make informed choices about buying, using and repairing these devices.

For Example:
      At present, I am saving up for a mobility scooter. It must be a model that can be used all-year round in Canada, outdoors on snow-ploughed roads and hills. Getting info and prices from the dealers can be very contradictory and confusing, so feel free to add your input about anything related to this thread.
      Thanks, everyone!

• Anonymous
      October 10, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Hi – I’ve been using an electric wheelchair (Jazzy1143) for about 8 years now. I have had some experience with icy conditions and don’t know of any set up that will overcome plowed roads and ice. I’ve considered ‘chaining up’ and give it a go but the chairs aren’t built for that. Scooters are just a smaller version of a wheelchair. There are lots of used chairs and scooters on the market so getting ‘something’ is not that hard to do. But like owning a car or a horse they require maintenance. I’ve developed a sense of where I can and cannot go, been places I probably shouldn’t have and got stuck in places that looked easy.