Introducing Tammy

• Anonymous
      February 10, 2007 at 3:36 pm

Hi,

Many of you remember me as the high school band director in New Orleans.

I’m posting this to introduce Tammy, a neighbor, and parent of one of my students whose 6 year old looks like she has GBS.

With our healthcare system in ruins in New Orleans and the fact that my neuro has passed away, I’m asking her to visit this forum for additional information and guidance.

She has taken her daughter into Childrens Hospital ER several times this week and it took them a few times before the MD stated that they “thought ” it was GBS, but they have not done the spinal tap.

As this is my first time as a “point of contact” with a child, I’m hopeing that some of you with experience with GBS in children will be able to help us fill in the blanks.

I have given her all the booklets as well as a conversation detailing many things. I have a parade ( Mardi Gras here ) this afternoon / evening, that my band is involved in so I will be out of touch except by cell phone until about 10 pm. I will be available 24 / 7 after the parade and will visit with them on Sunday.

My main concern is that they have given here neurotin and sent her home but have not done the spinal tap. The fact that ny case moved so quickly, I wonder about the approach the hospital is using but wonder if this is the case with children.

My thought is to seek a second opinion with a different hospital.

So, if we can rally behind Tammy with solid info and help, this would be appreciated.

Tammy, please feel free to post ANY questions here or in the childrens forum.

• Anonymous
      February 10, 2007 at 8:26 pm