information

• Anonymous
      October 13, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Hi there
      I am fairly new to both the foundation as well as this disorder. I was diagnosed on April 12, 2010 at 30 weeks pregnant. Anywho, I have been curious about few things.
      How old is everyone? I am 36 and I have read that this disease hits more experienced people.
      Of those of you who have gone into remission who has had flare-ups?
      Are flare-ups as dramatic as the first time you get hit with CIDP?

I am already anxious about getting a flare up and I haven’t fully recovered from my first round with this.
      I was told that because I waited so long to get to a dr (other dr. chalked my symptoms up to being pregnant), that i had a very serious bout of cidp.

just look for some light to be shed on this very dark disease.
      thank you for sharing your experience.
      michelle

• Anonymous
      October 14, 2010 at 5:34 am

Hi Micahsmom,
      I too am 36 (diagnoised 3 yrs ago)
      dont have too much experience re relapses as have continued on quite a lot of treatment since diagnoises 3 yrs ago. everytime we ahve tried to reduce treatment I have relapsed – the severity has depended on as to how long i have let my symptoms progress befroe getting back onto the full treatment( ah yes am a bit stubborn and tried out the ‘burying my head in the sand’ approach to see if that would work!!!)
      Last official relapse is exactly a year ago – when we tried reducing just the pulse methylpred (stayed on the ivig and immunos though) and went from running a half marathon one week to needing 2 arm crutches to walk 2 weeks later – and then really i should have admitted defeat and taken to the wheel chair again – oh but did i mention i was a little stubborn!!?? 😉

all the best – enjoy your precious baby! (I was still breastfeeding when CIDP chose me)

• Anonymous
      October 14, 2010 at 4:08 pm