I’m a newbie!!

• Anonymous
      July 17, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Hi, i am a 32 y/o felmale currently diagnosed with CIDP. i have had emerging symptoms for the past five years, controlled by anti-seizure medications. however, my neurologist felt strongly toward CIDP. so, an EMG and a lumbar puncture later i have began the course of IVIG. I have completed my five day loading dose one week ago. the results are amazing, i have approx. 75% relief of all symptoms.
      i am a registered nurse and i’m fully educated on this disease and auto-immune disorders and an understanding of what the IVIG will do. however, before each infusion i was admistered 1 gram of solu-medrol, a very powerful steroid. here is my delimmia, my body does not react well with steriods and i had no idea how much of an adverse reaction i would have, until after my course of five infusions.
      i must say that after the infusions i felt tired, a little bit of a headache and just on overall yucky feeling. however, i have been on an emotional roller coaster, crying uncontrollably and having the feeling of impending doom. this i do believe is from the solu-medrol. i guess i’m wonder how much solu-medrol other receive prior, if any? how far apart typically do treatments become for most? anyone else “freak out” from steroids??
      looking forward to responses.

• Anonymous
      July 18, 2006 at 12:10 am

Hi Flower and welcome to the site. You will find alot of info and support here. I can’t relate to the solumedral, but I can tell you that after my 5 day loading dose last june, I receive 50gm. infusions every 28 days over 5 hours. The tiredness, headache, and “yucky” feeling are pretty common with IVIG. I flat out felt like I had the flu with my loading dose, but with the one day infusions, only a slight headache and tired for a day or two. I’m sure other’s will come on and share different experiences…………..take care, Vicki

• Anonymous
      July 18, 2006 at 2:50 am