Home Health Aide Help with Private Insurance

• Anonymous
      January 17, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Hi everyone,
      I have private insurance and am wondering if it is possible to have them provide me with help at home. I worked in the medical field for many years and remember sending Home Health Aides to help people at home do daily tasks such as cooking or light cleaning. After my IVIG dose, I feel like I am useless. I can’t even get up to get a drink! Does anyone know if private insurance companies (I have Avmed) covers HHA’s?
      Thanks,

• January 17, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Hi Florencia,
      I imagine it would take a skillfully drafted letter from your doc. Are you up there in age, is your husband working? I am sure all of those things would come into play. If you don’t ask you will never know, and if your insurance pays for it, why not take advantage of it. Good luck!!!
      Dawn Kevies mom

PS, don’t know how you feel about this, but maybe there is a church in your neighborhood you could call, alot of times they have volunteers as well, high schools ALWAYS are looking for community service projects for the students. My son just completed a project at a womans shelter. Hopefully your doc and insurance comapany will be able to help you!

• Anonymous
      January 18, 2010 at 12:03 am

When I was at my worst, unable to walk & no use of my arms or hands, I did have an RN coming to the house to do my IVIG & solumedrol infusions, taking my blood pressure & listening to my heart rate. But when we checked to see if it would cover anything like bathing me or helping me dress, we were told that that was considered “maintenance therapy” & it would cost us $35 for half an hour. We had excellent private insurance, still do. Forget about medical insurance paying for someone to clean your house…