Hello newbie here

• Anonymous
      December 6, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Hello i was diagnosed with cidp about a yr and a half ago. i have relapsed several times in the past yr. Each time was different. I am on ivig every three weeks, takes about 9 hours. I am also on gabepentin for nerve pain and also om immuran 50 mg a day.Does anyone know if sharp nasty headaches that come and ago are apart of this? I am 41 yrs old.What do people with cidp take for normal pain? I have found that i can not walk very far and i cant stand up for very long. I go to a local hospital that has a pool that i can use, you pay so much a month. It seems to help, but i still cant stand for very long or walk very far. When i was first diagnosed with gbs i couldnt walk, couldnt stand up , couldnt swallow. couldnt do much of anything. I have improved alot since then.Does it get any better?

• Anonymous
      December 7, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Hey there,

Sorry that you are here, but glad you found a place that you can share problems and solutions associated with CIDP.

I think the more you read on the forum, the more you will find that many of us react to CIDP slightly differently. For instance, some are affected with muscular dysfunction, others experience little muscle weakness but have severe numbness. Some have a lot of pain, and some have very little. I don’t know why it seems to affect different people differently, but so it is.

Regarding headaches, CIDP is a peripheral neuropathy, meaning that it affects your arms, legs, and mainly the outside of your body. Headaches usually come from sources other than what CIDP does.

BUT, you may be having some kind of reaction to medication that might cause a headache. Or the stress of having a chronic disease, or depression from life situations. When you pile all the outside influences plus having CIDP, it doesn’t surprise me that more of us aren’t afflicted with headaches more often. I wouldn’t say that CIDP causes headaches directly.