Father recently dx with CIDP, have lots of questions

• Anonymous
      October 6, 2006 at 6:03 pm

My father was recently dx with CIDP, he is slowly recovering but is starting to think he might not recover at all. I have so many questions. Mainly I really would like to find a support group out there for him. Someone that can relate. I am a registered nurse, and I feel helpless. (this whole forum is obviously new to me also) HELP.

• Anonymous
      October 6, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Concernedgirl,

You have come to the right place. This site is a great place for your father to connect with others who can relate to his situation. It’s also a great place for family to come to learn more about the disease and get information about care and any other concerns.

Best wishes and we’ll look forward to hearing from your father.

Suzanne

• Anonymous
      October 6, 2006 at 11:49 pm

I hope you come here often & ask a lot of questions. Many of us have been on the Forum for a long time (for me it has been 4 years), & with that we have read thousands of posts on various issues. Also, we have experienced much of what your father is going through. I came down with a very severe case of CIDP back in March of 2002. It was so quick & I was so immobile that my originial dx was GBS. I would be glad to help in any way possible…

Also, there is always the option of private messinging or private emailing any member just by clicking on their name, which takes you to their profile. There is a link on that page giving you the option to send a private message or email. If possible it would help out a lot if you could give us his current condition, as well as what treatments he has tried. Also, it is very important to keep the pain level down, as that is what got me down the most. If he has neuropathic pain caused by damaged nerves, he should be taking neurontin, or the generic form gabepentin.