Family member of GBS patient

• Anonymous
      July 9, 2006 at 1:05 pm

I am relatively new to GBS. My mother’s second husband, to whom she has only been married for a little over 2 years, had come down with a stomach virus over the Memorial Day weekend 2006 which caused severe vomiting and unbearable headaches. Her tenants (she has a 2 family house) had had the virus the previous week and told her how horrible the vomiting and headaches were, so she figured Rex (her husband) had the same thing. On the Tuesday after the holiday weekend he was still pretty sick so she took him to the ER. In the ER they ran blood work and did a CAT scan, said that Rex was dehydrated, gave him IV fluids and sent him home saying it was a nasty virus that could take up to 2 weeks to get over. The next day she took him to his regular doctor who prescribed meds for the headaches and vomiting and said that the virus had hit Rex pretty hard. The meds helped with the vomiting and headaches and Rex was finally able to eat bland foods without vomiting it back up. He appeared to be doing better when we began noticing that the left side of his face was drooping, he was very weak (which we figured was mainly from the virus), he couldn’t focus his vision, and he said that his left arm was “no good”. Mom then took him back to the ER and it was then that the docs said that there was definitely something wrong with him. After a battery of tests (EEG, EKG, CAT scan, MRI, etc – all of which came back normal) they finally did a LP and found raised levels of protein in his spinal fluid and had their diagnoses – GBS. Rex was first admitted to the hospital on June 12 and the diagnosis was made on June 15. At that point he was transferred to ICU due to 1) problems controlling his BP; 2) the possibility that his breathing could become impaired and 3) to begin IVIG treatment. At this point he was able to move his hands and feet a bit, but was otherwise paralyzed and he was beginning to have problems with phle