Electical sensations

• Anonymous
      February 12, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Hi Fellow CIDPers,

Every time I overdue things, I have really uncomfortable electrical sensations over my body and also stiffness and cramps associated with it. I feel as if I am short-circuiting (like an android short-circuiting in a sci fi movie)! I even have bouts of shaking with it as well (as if I am freezing – but the outside temp’ is warm).
      These pains/electrical sensations usually will last up to a day after doing too much – and ease off after resting.
      My question is – does anyone have this type of pain with their CIDP and have you found anything to help it?
      I have had this ‘stuff’ since coming down with CIDP (my type is predominently sensory now).
      Thanks
      Kazza

• February 12, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Kazza, I don’t know if it’s quite the same or not, but I describe it as “my skin feels like it’s crawling”. I’m an electrical engineer and I’ve been shocked many times and this feeling doesn’t feel like a good stiff jolt of electon juice to me:D . My fingers and ankles in particular seem stiff though when I’m going through a flare up. I haven’t associated the sensations with over doing it, it just seems like a cyclical attack of antibodies to me. Exercise for me exercise seems to help diminish it. Sorry that doesn’t answer your question.

(I do like your android analogy, I’m a sci-fi buff).

I have visited Darwin and Perth before and must say that they were the warmest and friendlies people.

Gary

• Anonymous
      February 12, 2009 at 10:55 pm

When I came down with GBS that is how I would discribe my sensations along with an electrical buzz.

• Anonymous
      February 13, 2009 at 12:02 am