dx nov/07 and treated with IVIG

• Anonymous
      January 14, 2008 at 11:15 am

Hi My name is Dave W and I am new to this. I was dx in Nov/07 and was put on 2 treatments of IVIG in Nov and one month later 2 more. What kind of results would you see if it was working. I noticed that I have reflexes in my knees that have been gone for almost a year. Is this a good sign?

This forum has been very helpful to me. I was glad I found it.

• Anonymous
      January 14, 2008 at 11:20 am

If you have CIDP then you will need to be on a regular treatment schedule with immuno-modulators, such as IVIG, prednisone, solumedrol, or plasma pharesis.

With IVIG, most people get a 5 day loading dose & then go on to get treatments as needed. Some people need infusions once a week while others only get them once a month. You just have to figure out what works for you.

Getting your reflexes back is WONDERFUL! It’s a sign that IVIG works for you.

Kelly

• Anonymous
      January 20, 2008 at 8:39 am

Kelly

Thanks for replying. Yes I was dx with CIDP in nov 07. I have had numerous
      emg tests, every blood test out there and a spinal tap. The emg showed nerve damage, the blood test showed nothing, the spinal test showed elevated protein levelsalso my reflexes were not present. I have numbness in the toes,bottom of the feet up the front inside of the legs to the knees and now it is starting in the fingers. I still have feeling on the back of the legs and some on the top of my feet and toes. Very little motor control in my toes. I find that I feel weaker and number in the evenings than in the morning and day time. Can walk up stairs with something on my feet but it is difficult without. Will not even try to run up or even run, afraid that I will run out of steam. My feet can be very painful at times as if I were walking on eggshells.

Had 2 rounds of ivig treatment hoping for more. They really seemed to help.