cyclosporine and upper respiratory infection–advice needed…

• Anonymous
      December 27, 2008 at 11:03 am

so i have been on cyclosporine for about 1.5 months now and over the past week, week and a half, i am fighting what feels like an upper respiratory infection brewing…

does anyone have feedback re: immune suppressants and the development of infections? should i rush off to the doctor or wait to see if it develops into something?

thank you and happy holidays,
      alice

• Anonymous
      December 27, 2008 at 2:09 pm

Hi Alice,

If you think you may have an upper resp. infection, you don’t want it to develop into something worse, like pneumonia. You may need an antibiotic.
      Always on the weekend you know. I am sure the drug you are on makes you prone to infections.-tim

• Anonymous
      December 27, 2008 at 2:55 pm

Hi Alice,
      Remember, I’m not a doctor, so take what I say with that in mind. Each of us react differently to certain drugs. The data I researched on cyclosporine didn’t show that increased the likelihood of bacterial or fungal infection. However it didn’t decreases it either. You know you body better than anyone else, if you feel that “an upper respiratory infection brewing”, it probably is so…

It’s Saturday. Depending on your insurance, you may want to take a trip to the ER or call you doctor and see what he or she suggests. Either way, waiting to see what develops doesn’t seem like a good idea.

Let us know the outcome.

• Anonymous
      December 27, 2008 at 10:31 pm

Hi Alice! Alot of Chemo drugs can cause higher risk of infections. And with having a suppressed immune system, I think I would call my doctor and see if he can order you an antibiotic. I alway’s try to doctor myself up first to see if I improve a day or two. No improvement then I call my doctor.
      But your body will tell you what is best! If you think you need an antibiotic then I would certainly call! Hope you feel better soon! Hugs
      Linda

• Anonymous