CIDP Can I get back to 100%

• Anonymous
      November 12, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Can you be diagnosed and get treatment and then never deal with problems again.

• Anonymous
      November 12, 2006 at 7:45 pm

I wish I could tell that’s true. In my case it is not.:rolleyes: Even with treatment I’m slowing going down hill. Most of the other posting appear to indicate the you can get better to some degree.:) I’m new to the sight. However, I would suggest you look through the back posting and see what others have to say. I hope you are able to recover 100%:)

• Anonymous
      November 12, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Norb explained things so well back in July, he said the following …

[QUOTE]…….but I never understood why in GBS often symptoms would hang on for months or even years and it still would not be considered chronic and not the same as CIDP. The important difference is [B]persistence [/B]in GBS but [B]progression[/B] in CIDP. In GBS the bad antibodies are gone but the damage to the nerves has been done. Symptoms caused by nerve damage continue to exist until and if nerves regrow. They are persistent. In CIDP the bad antibodies don’t go away and continue to do damage finding new areas to attack. Symptoms continue to worsen. They are progressive. For some they remit only to come back.
      [/QUOTE]

The following is taken from the UK gbs/cidp webside – I only copied portions of it.

[QUOTE]
      Illnesses can be short ([B]acute[/B]) or long-lasting ([B]chronic[/B]). In dysimmune neuropathies, acute is defined when the [B]nadir[/B] (worse point) is comes within 28 days. Chronic is defined when the nadir is comes after 56 days. Unusually, if the nadir comes between 28 and 56 days, the illness is termed [B]sub-acute[/B].
      [B]…………………[/B]