Careers for us? What’s a good fit?

• Anonymous
      June 18, 2008 at 1:00 am

I am a Registered Nurse.
      I’ve been on sick leave for 6 months.
      Not sure if i will ever be able to be a nurse in the same capacity as before.
      Nursing is VERY physically demanding (i was surprised, too).

I thought getting my masters in nursing eduation would work well, but i’ve noticed that a couple of you are teachers who have had to leave the profession after getting sick. Now, im wondering if teaching was the right path to head down.

Any one out there in the health field? Teaching? Anything that works well with your limitations?

Looking at your pictures has made me interested in photography, but i know nothing about it and i live in a small town where business is hard to come by. Any thoughts on that?

• Anonymous
      June 18, 2008 at 1:24 am

Hi Jamie

It is great that you have gone for your Masters – congrats! I am a retired Management Consultant; I had to stop doing client facing work because it was too exhausting, as well as I couldn’t keep up with the “thinking ahead” requirements.

I have been doing ok doing internal work, including some teaching – averaging only 15 hours a week. Would it work for you to teach part-time, taking some time to work out how many hours you can do a week on top of your other commitments?

It has been quite “make it up as you go along” for me, but after about two years now, I think that I have a routine that works – I work Tuesdays and Thursdays so that I have plenty of time to recover – as well as being home by 4 so that I can spend time with my son. As well, when I teach, I spend quite awhile planning and studying ahead of time when I can, so that I don’t lose it half way through. This is quite a different approach to the old days, but things change and you have to adapt!

Take care
      Debs

• Anonymous
      June 18, 2008 at 1:52 am

deb,