Can Gbs cause Atrial Fibrillation (AF) ??

• Anonymous
      December 21, 2007 at 6:55 am

Hi everybody, out there in GBS land and thank you for allowing me to be part of the family. I gained my “Qualifications” in early June 2007 and am still searching for some answers. I came across your site and found it very interesting. Reading peoples stories I can see that most people have similar experiences but no two seem to be the same so it is hard to make comparisons.
      First, I will give a brief history of events leading up to and since I went down with GBS. Please keep in mind that I am not a computer guru and this is my first attempt at communicating via a forum. Still working out threads and posts etc. My wife Deirdre will help me type it in.
      On May 16th this year Deirdre and I went to Perth, Western Australia to visit our youngest daughter Kerrie who now lives there. (a long way from home)
      We took the late afternoon flight, (a 5 hour trip from Brisbane), that got into Perth after midnight, needless to say we were very tired after this. Next day I found that I had very sore glands and was tired most of the time, but we pushed on and made the most of our time there.
      After returning home the sore glands started to fade away and I went back to work. We had decided that this year I would get the flu shot. I have never had it before, but as I have been working two jobs, both bringing me in contact with the public a lot, we thought it might be a good idea!!
      I went to my local medical centre and got the shot, told the doctor that I was getting over a virus of some sort. He checked to see if I had a temperature and as I did not he said everything should be ok.