Anyone using Privigen?

• Anonymous
      October 15, 2008 at 3:12 pm

I’m looking for interesting information about Privigen. It is the brand of IVIG that I’m currently on.

• Anonymous
      October 15, 2008 at 8:01 pm

I Lauren! Never heard of that brand in here but pretty sure somebody in here can answer that! Hope you are doing okay and feeling better! Hugs
      Linda H

• Anonymous
      October 16, 2008 at 9:40 am

[QUOTE=lalathompson]I’m looking for interesting information about Privigen. It is the brand of IVIG that I’m currently on.[/QUOTE]

Hi Lauren,

This is the URL for a document that compares different brands of IGg, side-by-side. Privigen is the last column on the right.

[url]http://www.ashp.org/s_ashp/docs/files/DShort_IVIGsidebysideupdatedDec07.pdf[/url]

• Anonymous
      October 31, 2008 at 4:07 am

Hi Lauren,
      I am taking Privigen. I have been receiving IVIG for six months. I originally had a Loading dose of Carimune and saw results. I then had two more months of Carimune at the Maintenance dosage. There was very little progress. The past three months I have received Privigen at the Load dosage each time. I have been improving. It is my understanding that the change from Caimune to Privigen was due to cost. We have attributed my progress to receiving the loading dose, not the change in the brand of IVIG.
      What has been your experience?
      Donnam

• Anonymous
      November 1, 2008 at 2:39 pm

I’ve only done IVIG twice since my dx in August. Privigen is the only brand of IVIG i’ve done. I tolerate it just fine and walk out of the hospital feeling like a million bucks! I wasn’t sure on the price…but you say its less than others?

• Anonymous
      November 2, 2008 at 12:50 pm

What the nurse said when they switched me to Privigen, it is less expensive for the Infusion Center to purchase. But, the Infusion Center will charge the same to the patient (Insurance Company).