Anti-depressants or Pain pills

• Anonymous
      April 22, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Hi, this is my first time on this board. I have had CIDP for about seven years. I have gotten IVIG treatments for the last five years. My CIDP has been well controlled except for some pain flare ups. Back in June ’08 my insurance company decided to stop my infusions with my current home agency. It was a real fight and they ended up letting me go with my current company (long story). I was not getting treatments for five months. I am starting them up again and have noticed that I have a great deal more pain in my feet and hands. I have tried Cymbalta, which worked, but the side effects were terrible. I have tried Effexor, Lamictal, and am currently trying Elavil (have been taking for one week). None have worked, still waiting on the Elavil. The only thing that has helped is Vicodin, but my doctor will not prescribe it for me for the nerve pain. I am on Neurontin 3200 mg/day and IVIG every two weeks. I am at my ropes end with this pain. When I end up on the couch all day with pain I get very depressed. I have a 13-year-old daughter and I feel so guilty. I am thinking about going to a pain management doctor and see what he can do. Do you think I should continue to try antidepressants or the Vicodin? I need some advice from people who know about this awful pain. I am tired of crying every night and feeling sooooo guilty about my daughter. I do have a husband which does help with her. Any advice would be appreciated.

Clare
      🙁

• Anonymous
      April 22, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Hi Clare ….