A couple concerns for a newbie!

• Anonymous
      August 11, 2007 at 9:25 am

I am new to writing on this forum but not new to reading them. I was diagnosed with GBS on April 22, 2007 and spent 7 weeks in the hospital (Thanks for the visit Jerimy). GBS only affected my legs (complete paralysis) and my arms and hands slightly. I am now home and finished out-patient therapy (because insurance won’t pay for it anymore). I am walking for the most part with a walker and around the house with nothing (toddling along the walls for the most part) but I have a couple questions.

First of all, this is my second time having GBS. I had it when I was two and at the time I was the youngest person to have it and survive it. I remember my mother telling me a story that when I came home from the hospital all my eyelashes fell out. Now I have noticed my hair is falling out. I am not losing enough for anyone to notice but it is just really thinning out. Is this a common problem with GBS?

My second question is regarding driving. I have three teenagers in three different activities and I am still not allowed to drive. Plus with doctor appointments and things it is crazy. I feel as if I could drive but don’t want to get into or cause any accidents. What are the requirements to drive? I am getting my ankle strength back but it is not 100% yet.

I would appreciate any input on these concerns. I am only working with my re-hab doctor because I refuse to go see my primary doctor (he mis-diagnosed me for 6 weeks even though I would ask him at every appointment if this could be GBS) and my re-hab doctor is a very busy person and really can only see me every two months.

• Anonymous
      August 11, 2007 at 9:38 am