78 yr old mother diagnosed

• Anonymous
      June 8, 2007 at 12:20 pm

I am a new member here since my mom was just diagnosed a week ago. Does anyone have experience with GBS with an older person? After everything I’ve been reading, I feel pretty good about her recovery- I’m just concerned her age may play a factor. She’s had the immunoglobin, last dose on 6/3- the drs are concerned she’s still paralyzed. I think it’s too soon to jump into the plasmaspheresis, but I’m just an internet doctor! Does anyone have any thoughts or experiences they can share with me? My mom is in Buffalo NY and I’m in Portland OR (makes it really difficult to be so far away).
      THank you!

• Anonymous
      June 8, 2007 at 12:37 pm

Im 73 Male, GBS nov 8 06, Had a great recovery, Trach, 40 days in hospital, wheelchair, walker, cane. I now can walk short distances without help, still have residuals, neurontin for pain vicodin when needed. The Nero doctors cant beleive my rapid recovery, the people on this site have been a great help to me and my wife, all in all I feel great, glad to be alive. Ill be rooting for your mom. Keep the faith…….Gene……

• Anonymous
      June 8, 2007 at 1:55 pm

Jenn,

So sorry to hear about your mother. It does sound like she’s being given appropriate treatment.

Make sure she gets plenty of pain medication when she needs it. That was the most distressing problem for me during my active phase of GBS. The pain was unbelievable. Relieving it made the other problems so much more bearable.

Is your mother able to communicate? Is there a family member of friend near by who is able to act as her advocate while she’s in the hospital?

Please let us know how she’s doing, and feel free to come here for support or advice.

Best wishes, Suzanne

• Anonymous
      June 8, 2007 at 10:31 pm

hi jenn & welcome,